Search This Blog

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching

Are you or do you know an outstanding mathematics or science teacher in seventh through twelfth grade? Please consider nominating him or her for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. Anyone - principals, teachers, parents, students, or member of the general public - may nominate a teacher by completing the nomination form available on the PAEMST website at We will be accepting nominations until April 1, 2011. An online application is also available. There is still plenty of time to apply. Applications are due May 2, 2011.

What Are the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching?

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th-grade mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Enacted by Congress in 1983, this program authorizes the President to bestow up to 108 awards each year. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

In addition to honoring individual achievement, the goal of the award program is to exemplify the highest standards of mathematics and science teaching. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

The following are eligibility criteria for nominees. They must:

· Teach mathematics or science at the 7th-12th grade level in a public or private school.

· Hold at least a Bachelor's degree from an accredited institution.

· Be a full-time employee of the school or school district as determined by state and district policies, and teach K-12 students at least 50% of the time.

· Have at least 5 years of full-time, K-12 mathematics or science teaching experience prior to the 2010-2011 academic school year.

· Teach in one of the 50 states or the four U.S. jurisdictions. The jurisdictions are Washington, DC; Puerto Rico; Department of Defense Schools; and the U.S. territories (American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands).

· Be a U.S. Citizen or Permanent Resident.

· Not have received the PAEMST award at the national level in any prior competition or category.

Why Apply?

Recipients of the award receive the following:

  • A citation signed by the President of the United State s.
  • A paid trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities.
  • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

In addition to recognizing outstanding teaching in mathematics or science, the program provides teachers with an opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation. This growing network of award-winning teachers serves as a vital resource for improving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and keeping America globally competitive.

No comments:

Post a Comment